Day 5 – Part II: Counting Calories

It’s almost seven o’clock in the evening and I just had a homemade spicy chicken and pepper jack cheese quesadilla. Yum! This is one of my favorite things to cook at home. It doesn’t take much. I planned on making a video of the preparation or taking some photos of the finished product, perhaps another day.

Flour tortilla – 130 calories, 30 from fat

Cheese – 110 calories, 80 from fat

Shredded chicken, light and dark –  150 calories

1 Tblspn canola oil – 120 calories, 120 from fat

2 Tblspn Salsa – 20 calories

It was about 510 calories and well worth it since I’ve been dining on apples, oranges and pretzel twists lately.

This morning was a bowl of cereal – 170 calories with skim milk – 90 calories.

Midday snacks of a mandarin orange – 35 calories and pretzels – 240 calories.

Tortilla chips and salsa – 280 calories.

Grand total for Day 5 is 1345 calories, just under my 1400 calorie average. Somebody gets a cookie later, I mean an apple!

My calories count for yesterday…

Mandarin oranges (2) – 70 calories

Honey wheat pretzel twists  – 240 calories

Tortilla chips and salsa – 280 calories

Before going to class I shared a pack of Sapporo Ichiban Japanese Style Noodles with my son – 470 calories, 180 from fat which only half went to me.

Noodles – 235 calories, 60 from fat

Mandarin oranges (2) – 70 calories

And for dessert, a chocolate chip cookie – 100 calories

Total for Day 4 was only 995 calories. Wow, that’s low!

Leave a Reply

