Day 8: Where is my motivation?

Is it possible that I’ve already run out of steam? Suddenly I have no desire to exercise and I see no reason to watch my calorie intake. Today was a lazy day, just like yesterday. I sat around the house watching television, playing on the computer and eating. I’m not really eating bad foods but they’re not good foods either.

Yesterday I cooked two quesadillas with chicken and pepper jack cheese. Today I had two Eggo waffles with butter and syrup, a corn dog that I baked in the oven and snacked on those grab bags of chips that usually go into my kids lunch boxes. I woke up at 2 am to use the bathroom and then found myself standing in the kitchen eating a cookie with my eyes closed.

This morning I had two slices of wheat toast and two eggs fried over easy. Maybe I’m just making up for all the food I haven’t been eating this week. Perhaps I should stop trying to eat less and just try to eat more foods that are healthy. I think I over did it this week, especially day 6 with the intense exercise and just wasn’t getting enough fuel to feed the fire.

Today I diced up a can of Spam and sauteed it in a frying pan with cayenne pepper. Then I made a plate of nachos with tortilla chips, pepper jack cheese, the seasoned Spam and baked them in the oven. Spam Nachos!? It sounds like something a stoner or a pregnant lady would eat.

It’s been raining a lot over the past two days so I haven’t been able to go walk, run or bicycle. It sounds like a great reason but it’s actually just a lousy excuse. I still have my weights in the bathroom and the stairs aren’t going anywhere. I need to get my motivation and determination back!

2 responses

  1. Awww, two things … eat MORE (but try and keep it healthy) and if you’re tired, personally I’d take it as a sign your body needs that one more rest day. Losing weight is actually more about what you eat than the exercise (two different things apparently, thoguh clearly they fit perfectly together like um, bacon and eggs!) hope I’ve worded this properly. Anyway, try eating for energy so that you can get back to things asap tomorrow.

    Good luck and please don’t give up, you’ve proven your commitment already. x

  2. Many think its all about willpower. No way. I can’t stop myself either if I have bad food in the house. Try getting rid of the things in your home that you eat that aren’t that great for you. If you don’t have them around, you can’t eat them. Have healthy options like lots of fruit and veggies. I also find I have to make my food ahead of time. I cook at night then put it in the fridge so I have no excuse to eat badly. Lastly, even when you aren’t feeling like working out, getting up and doing jumping jacks for 2 minutes or some other exercise helps get you more in the mood. Your chemistry changes then you are up for the challenge to do some more. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

