Day 9: Back on Track

I want to thank everyone for their comments of encouragement and helpful advice. Today is the ninth day of my weight loss blog and I feel that I’ve regained my energy and positive state of mind. My leg muscles have had time to heal after the day of hiking and bicycling.

This morning for breakfast I had two slices of wheat toast with a little bit of butter and topped it with a few slices of pepper jack cheese and two eggs fried sunny side up. That was about 8AM. It was nice to have a satisfying meal that didn’t leave me wanting. So I took my new found energy to the stairwell and climbed up and down four times, 536 steps up and 536 steps down.

After the stairs I sat down at my desk and spent a few hours studying for next weeks finals. Hunger began to kick in around noon so I went to the kitchen in search of something to eat. The word “Protein” has been bouncing around my head since Gatekepa of Nerd Fitness mentioned it in his comment the other day.

I had some eggs and dairy for breakfast. What protein could I have for lunch? Peanut Butter. I forgot I even had this old jar of peanut butter. I check the expiration date (2013) and made myself a peanut butter and strawberry jam sandwich for lunch. It was delicious and most of all, satisfying.

After lunch I studied for another hour and then decided to do some of my weight lifting routines. I did my usual 3 “SETS” of 20 “REPS” of Curls and 3 “SETS” of 15 “REPS” of “Upright Rows” followed by 3 “SETS” of 10 “REPS” of a “Close Grip Shoulder Press” Thanks Gatekepa for help with all the proper terminology.

I’m feeling good today. I’ve got some boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the fridge which I plan to grill for dinner. The chicken might possibly find it’s way into a vegetable stir fry or maybe just a grilled chicken sandwich with lettuce and tomato. And if the weather permits I’ll be doing a few laps around the old elementary school tonight.

6 responses

  1. Glad Kepa came by and showed you the proper terminology. It always sucks to say things wrong and not even be aware of it! He showed me your blog so I just wanted to pop by and say good luck! It’s only been a week but you are doing great! 🙂

  2. Good to see you adding some more protein in 🙂 Just thought I’d let you know, I’m not from Nerd Fitness, I just think Steve (the guy who runs it) is a smart dude with some excellent ideas in regards to exercise and nutrition. But I’m glad I could help. Keep up the fantastic work!

  3. I always love too read about peoples attempts to get fit and healthy, this is a goal that I share myself, and as well as encouragement, I’d also like to offer some advice after reading your blog.

    On some of your days, your calorie intake is far too low, for a man, you should really be aiming for about 1800 calories for a steady weight loss, the majority of these calories should come from lean meat, complex carbs, fruit and vegetables, aswell as your daily dairy intake and a small amount off fat.

    I’m especially impressed with your attempts at eating vegetarian food, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

