Day 30: A New Year – A New Start

It’s a new year and I’m back where I started. 250 pounds! The holidays really did a number on me. Well at least now I know how easy it is to lose that first ten pounds. If I did it once then I can do it again. So today I took a few baby steps forward to getting back on track again.

I started the new year by pulling the Wii balance board out of the closet and putting in some freshly charged AA alkaline batteries. I bought the Wii a few years ago in an attempt to get back in shape but the novelty of mixing home work outs with interactive video games was soon forgotten.

On the Wii today I reintroduced myself to the Wii Fit. Standing on the Wii balance board I did a body test which calculated my body mass index and measured my center of balance which was way off. It also tells me my weight (252 lbs). Yikes! It also gives you a Wii Fit age. I turned out to be forty, ten years older than I am in real life.

The Wii Fit has several categories to help you lose weight and stay active.

1. Yoga: I still haven’t tried this yet but I should.

2. Strength Training: This is exactly what I need. I tried a few today.

3. Aerobics: Hula Hoop is a lot of fun, and very effective.

4. Balance Games: Skiing, Snowboarding, Tightrope walking and more.

Today I did some Hula Hoop which was much harder than I thought. I also did some Strength Training and Soccer Heads. In the end I put eleven minutes in my Wii Fit piggy banks and unlocked one new game. I think the Wii will be a good tool to help me in my weight loss and it will at least keep things fun and interesting.

Tonight I went on a bike ride which I haven’t done in about two weeks since before my trip to Seattle. I strapped on my helmet and all of my blinking lights and set out for Waikiki. It was nice to be back on the bike and riding through traffic, pushing myself harder and faster.

When I got home I was tired and sweaty and began to strip down for a shower. There they were… my weights. Sitting against the wall in the bathroom where they’ve alway been, patiently waiting to be picked up and put to good use.

Curls (20 lb curl bar): 3 sets of 20 reps

Upright Rows (20 lb curl bar): 3 sets of 20 reps

Close Grip Shoulder Press (10 lb dumbbell): 3 sets of 20 reps

That was my day and tomorrow is another one.

4 responses

  1. Good to see you posting again! Sweet deal on the Wii! I’ve been without a gaming system for about a year now, starting to get itchy trigger fingers.

Leave a Reply

