Day 36: Climbing Stairs, Skipping Steps

I decided to climb the stairs today but with a little twist, skipping steps. So instead of the usual 134 steps to the top of the stairwell, I reached the top in only 66 steps. I could really feel the difference, not in my legs but in my chest. My heart was beating so hard and so fast that I had to take a short breather every two flights. After four trips up and down, I calculated that I had climbed 536 stairs in only 264 steps. In keeping with my desire to do a little more than before, I added a fifth trip to the the top. I was tired and sweaty and I felt like my heart was going to explode out of my chest but I managed to make it up one last time. It’s a great feeling when you realize that your body is capable of doing so much more than your brain believes is possible.

For breakfast this morning I had a bowl of oatmeal (100 calories). And for lunch I’m making myself a turkey sandwich with spinach and some dijon mustard on a whole wheat roll. Eating healthy is a lot easier when you have good foods in the house to keep you on track. I’m defrosting some chicken breasts and plan on making a nice salad for dinner.

I haven’t been focused so much on counting calories like before. Instead I’m just trying to stay focused on eating healthy, keeping my portions small and incorporating more vegetables and fruits into my meals.

As for exercise, I try to do something everyday whether it’s walking, riding my bike, climbing stairs or playing on the Wii. I just wish I had somebody to exercise with. I feel like putting up an ad on Craigslist for an exercise buddy. Sometimes I see guys running who are really fit and I want to ask if I can work out with them sometime.

Well for now, I’ll keep going it alone.

4 responses

  1. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog! I admire your determination to eat healthy and exercise. Keep up the good job! 🙂

    May I suggest a snack in between breakfast and lunch, and lunch and dinner? It is supposed to keep our metabolism going, and I found that help me out with overeating from hunger. I have to say I don’t have a lot of “healthy” recipes on my blog, but you can check out the Homemade Larabar as in between meal snacks.

  2. Enjoy keeping track of your blog! It helps me to want to do the same, knowing that I’m not the only person out their trying to make my life a little healthier!
    Keep up the good work 🙂 Food is certainly starting to sound healthier!

Leave a Reply

