Day 39: Back to School

Today was my first day back to school. Let the weight loss begin!

For breakfast this morning I had a bowl of oatmeal and a mandarin orange. I took my son to school and my daughter to her Auntie’s house before making the one mile bike ride up to the UH Manoa campus.

Every Tuesday and Thursday I have back to back Religion classes. After class I walked through the Sustainability Courtyard on campus to see if the vegetarian restaurant had spicy garlic veggies but they didn’t. I decided to try the sauteed teriyaki sesame vegetables instead. They were good, but not great.

It was a one mile bike ride back home. I picked up my daughter first and we walked the last few blocks from her Auntie’s house on Lime St. to our Kalakaua Ave apartment. We had a nice, quiet, relaxing two hours together before Mom came home and before it was time to pick up my son from school.

At 4:30 this afternoon/evening I had a quick dinner. My usual turkey sandwich on wheat bread with some mixed greens. The plate looked kind of empty and I thought about adding some chips (yes I still have chips in the house) but I didn’t.

My last class of the day is Spanish 102. Part II of a IV part language requirement that I need to graduate with my bachelors degree. My Spanish class is at a different campus, Kapiolani Community College which is a two mile bike ride and what used to be a quarter mile bike push up a pretty steep incline.

I left the house at five and reached Kapiolani or KCC as it is known at about 5:30. I made the effort to actually bicycle up the incline that I usually end up walking and made it about half way before giving up. Class was good. The professor, Fernand Cortiguera is a really fun guy. He’s half Spanish and half French and grew up in Africa, Kenya I think.

After class (eight o’clock at night) I bicycled the two miles back home. It was dark and the roads were wet from some passing showers but I was prepared with my helmet and flashing lights. When I got home I was hungry, really hungry. Two mandarin oranges later and my hunger has subsided, for now.

It was a good day today. I bicycled six miles and ate pretty healthy. No other exercises going on right now. My ass, I mean gluts, are sore. It was the body weight squats and lunges from yesterdays attempt at the Dynamic Warm Up on Nerd Fitness. Well now that I think about it, I could do a quick home workout for my upper body tonight. Some curls and shoulder rolls, upright rows and close grip shoulder press. Yeah I can do that!

One response

  1. I think your food looks so yummy!! I used to have chips with my sandwiches all the time too! Slowly I started to replace them with fruit or veggies and healthy dip. I also sometimes have healthy crackers (triscuits or other whole grain crackers) dipped in hummus or guacamole or something like that! Yum!!

Leave a Reply

