Breakfast Smoothie

I’ve been absent from my blog for about a week and a half but that doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten my goals to live an active and healthy lifestyle.

Family and school have been keeping me busy but I’m still finding time to exercise and eat healthy. I’m still riding my bike to school and around town. And I’ve been finding new way to incorporate fruits and veggies into my meals.

I was watching an episode of Good Eats with Alton Brown and I was inspired by the show that was all about how he lost weight by eating healthy. His morning smoothie sounded so good that I decided to make my own.

I bought some frozen fruits from Sam’s Club. The first bag is a mix of peaches, pineapple, mango and strawberries The second bag is a mix of raspberries, blackberries and blueberries. Equal parts of each put into the blender with a half cup of skim milk, a tblspn of fat free greek yogurt and a few squirts of natural Hawaiian Honey.

It is a delicious and nutritious breakfast full of vitamins and antioxidants and probably a lot of other healthy stuff. That has been my breakfast for two days in a row.

For lunch yesterday I had my favorite Spicy Garlic Veggies at school and when I came home I made a salad of mixed greens with sliced apples, baked chicken and papaya seed dressing.

I’ve been hiking on my days off, bicycling everyday and last night I went for a one hour walk/jog along the Ala Wai canal which took me an entire hour to complete.

Portabello Mushrooms! Why did it take me so long to discover these tasty little devils. I bought a pack of 8 big caps and today for lunch I sliced up two of them, sauteed with olive oil, salt and pepper. OMG it was like eating a Ribeye steak. Those things are so good!

Needless to say I am experiencing a resurgence of energy and motivation.

One response

Leave a Reply

